Cursor has recently become more damaging than it is useful

I’m writing this, not as a list of complaints for the sake of complaining, but in the hope that someone will either confirm that they are having the same issues, or explain to me if I am doing something wrong…

Context: I am an amateur (but competent) coder, and have been working on a personal project in Next JS for a few hours most evenings for the past 6 months. Up until I signed up for Cursor Pro at beginning of September, I had been ‘hand-coding’ (as I have done for decades), and more recently for a couple of months had been using Claude 3.5 Sonnet to copy and paste coding solutions, which was working very well.

For several weeks I had found Cursor Pro to be astonishingly good and a massive time saver, cutting out the copying and pasting from Claude AI. I have been astonished at how good Cursor has been, and it has made some of the inevitable drudgery of coding very enjoyable.

However, over the past 3 or 4 days I have found that Cursor completions are less than useful; it has got to the point where Cursor is creating more problems than solutions.

The simplest of requests is either failing completely (trashing code, removing functionality, breaking imports), implementing features that were explicitly excluded in the prompt, or code suggestions are made in Composer without an option to ‘Apply’ the changes.

Example 1: “Add two buttons to the ‘Edit’ component; ‘Apply’ & ‘Cancel’ (bottom-right of the component). Both buttons should write the action to the console log and hide the component.”

Previously, this would have done exactly what I expected, but Cursor completely removed the design of the existing component and replaced it with a ShadCN UI Dialog with the requested buttons. The project is using ShadCN UI, but I did not mention “Dialog” in the prompt, and there wasn’t a Dialog in the component.