Why do Cursor and Claude.ai produce different responses?

Hi. I’m relatively new to Cursor and to coding with LLMs, so I’m still trying to learn my way around and figure out how best to use them. I’m trying to understand why Cursor produces responses that are different from Claude.ai when they are both supposedly using the same model. Here’s an example of what I mean.

I start with the following function, which I believe was generated with GPT 4o (Claude was down at the time, so cursor fell back to a different model):

export function parseProperty<T extends z.ZodType>(
  obj: unknown,
  path: string,
  schema: T,
): z.infer<T> | null | undefined {
  const keys = path.split(".");
  let value: unknown = obj;

for (const key of keys) {
    if (
      typeof value === "object" &&
      value !== null &&
      !Array.isArray(value) &&
      key in value
    ) {
      value = (value as Record<string, unknown>)[key];
    } else {
      return undefined;
    }
  }

if (value === null) {
    return schema.safeParse(null).success ? null : undefined;
  }

const parsed = schema.safeParse(value);
  return parsed.success ? parsed.data : undefined;
}

In Cursor I started a new chat with this file as context, and asked the following: “can you please look over the parseProperty method we have here and confirm that it has the correct logic and is written in the cleanest and most concise way?”

Here is the response from Claude:

I’ve reviewed the parseProperty function, and overall, it’s well-written and follows a logical approach. However, there are a few minor improvements we can make to enhance its clarity and conciseness. Here’s an updated version with explanations:

schema: T,

// Simplified type check
    if (value && typeof value === "object" && !Array.isArray(value)) {
    } else {
      return undefined;
    }
  }

// Handle null case first
  if (value === null) {
    return schema.isNullable() ? null : undefined;
  }