Composer has gotten wacky!

I am fairly new to Cursor, having recently made the switch from VS Code, Claude-Dev and Aider. Everyone on Twitter and Youtube constantly singing its praises, so here we are…

As some others have stated, when working a greenfield project and trying to build the structure of a project, it is a life saver. Beyond that you better know what you are doing!

Today’s issue:

I am using Python Flask and trying to build a Knowledge Base system.

I am asking Composer / Claude 3.5 to make some seemingly simple style changes to some HTML files. I like how it styled one of the pages and want it to use the same styling on another page. It keeps changing code but when I go to my browser to check the changes, nothing is changed. This went on for a very long time until I noticed… it was making changes to a root level “/admin” directory rather tha n “/templates/admin” directory, which is out of bounds in Flask.

Why is it doing this? No idea but I will watch it more closely.

So I deleted the root level “/admin” directory and hoped that would fix things but no luck.

I checked the console and see lots of errors like “Error: Unable to read file ‘/templates/admin/topic.html’ (Error: Unable to resolve nonexistent file ‘/templates/admin/topic.html’”. That files DOES NOT exist so that’s why it can’t read it.

It is also trying to create a directory that already exists: “error in runFastApplyOnCodeBlock Error: Unable to write file ‘/static/styles.css’ (Unknown (FileSystemError): Error: EROFS: read-only file system, mkdir ‘/static’)”

There are several similar examples.

So I went into settings and tried to re-index it, but that also did not help.

Code generation gets stuck on Applying… and never comes home or reports an error.

I just upgraded to pro having been impressed by the easier tasks I threw at it but now I wonder if I wasted my money…